What's the Difference Between a Locked and Unlocked Template?
Last updated: September 1, 2026
Locked and Unlocked Templates determine how much flexibility managers have when using coaching Templates. This article outlines the differences between the two Templates types.
Required permissions:
The Coaching: Create Template or Coaching: All Access permission is required to create a coaching Template and assign its Locked/Unlocked Status.
What is a Locked Coaching Template?
Locked Templates keep agenda items consistent across active Programs, recurring one-on-one Sessions, and Group Sessions. Locked Templates include the following functionality:
The Template creator and anyone with Coaching: All Access can add, remove, or edit Agenda Items.
Managers cannot change or remove Agenda Items from the Template.
Managers can add Agenda Items to the Template.
Added Agenda Items will be applied to active Programs, recurring one-on-one Sessions, and Group Sessions created with the Template.
Any items that a manager adds to the Template will still appear in that manager's active Programs, one-on-one Sessions, and Group Sessions, even if the core Template is later updated.
What is an Unlocked Coaching Template?
Unlocked Templates give managers a starting point to start coaching. They can customize meeting agendas without those events being updated by later template changes.
Managers can add and remove Agenda Items from the Template. The changes apply only to that Manager's usage of the Template.
Changes made to the Template will not be applied to active Programs, one-on-one Sessions, or Group Sessions that were created with the Template. The new Template configuration will only apply to Programs, recurring one-on-one Sessions, and Groups Sessions created after the Template was updated.
Whenever an Admin makes a change to an Unlocked Template, any active Programs, recurring one-on-one Sessions, and Group sessions will not receive the updated Agenda Items. Any newly created coaching events created with the Template will have the new configuration applied.